The hope of a New Year

Many years pass by and we let them go… Many years pass us by and we watch them go but for some of us, for some of us few who attach meaning to the New Year, we hold on and grab onto it mightily deciding what we want to happen this new year. It is not a fool’s dream to believe that 365 days hold a fresh start for you. It is not stupid to want to be different in the new year- to want to do thing’s differently. This is because some of us, if we don’t bring hope to the new year then we remain stuck; we remain lazy, unprogressive- even regressive, uncreative, mean, unimaginative… We stay the same. One of the greatest things about humans is our need to renew ourselves, to get better, to grow and that cannot happen if we let a new year pass by without making a few adjustments.

So this new year I’m making adjustments. For me, when the clock struck 12:01am and I watched the fireworks light up the sky, I knew that my moment to shine had arrived. I realized that from that day forward, I would have to make a few changes to my life. The fireworks in the sky screamed to me of bright new hope; of an opportunity I had to grab before the last specks of light simmered into the whole consuming darkness, they sounded to me a cry of hope, exuberant noises saying, ‘Listen! Listen!’ And so here I am listening…

I have made new resolutions and I will work to make them happen. I learned recently that proactive people happen to things and do not wait to be happened to. So here I am; I am ready to happen to the world, I have decided to blossom like the lily I am- plain and simple on the outside but filled with a decidedly purposeful… I have 365 days to know so join me, join me in this cause- in this new year, let us be triumphant together!

Leave a Reply

